The Hundredth Monkey

I recently read a study conducted in 1952. Reliability and the actual occurrence of the study even taking place was called into question, that it may just be a myth. Regardless the study enthralled me and mythical or not I enjoyed it. Here’s the gist of it.

Scientists were providing monkeys with sweet potatoes dropping them in the sand for the monkeys to collect. The monkeys loved the potatoes but hated the sand. One of the monkeys realised that she could rectify the problem by washing the sand off in the nearby stream, she taught the other monkeys. Through imitation they were able to learn. Now this in itself isn’t an anomaly, these creatures are intelligent and able to learn. What was surprising was that colonies of monkeys on other islands began doing the exact same thing without any ability to imitate through observation, as they were on neighbouring islands with ocean in-between.

Hence the name “The Hundredth Monkey Phenomenon”, the hundredth monkey was the tipping point, so to speak, that pushed the knowledge of a select group to spread and be communicated within the species mind to mind. Which can be concluded that if enough individuals tuned into a certain behaviour there would be a point where subconsciously everyone would pick up on this. Where a species begins to evolve.  (A little side note: The older monkey’s learnt from the younger monkeys).

So often I get told that my individual actions can’t even begin to change a society so steadfast in its ways. For example, because it means so much to me, that my small gesture of recycling couldn’t possibly put even the smallest of dents in resolving a crisis that awaits us. The message that I’m trying to convey is that you may well be that hundredth monkey. The monkey that pushed humanity towards collective consciousness and helped bring about the actualisation of important impactful change.

Therefore,

Recycle – You may be the monkey that reverses climate change.

Love more – You may be the monkey that abolishes hate.

Plant trees – You may be the monkey to change deforestation giving actual monkeys back their homes.

I understand and am not naïve enough to be deluded into the fact that I may not be able to create change alone. HOWEVER I may be that hundredth monkey that tips us ever so slightly over the edge and that alone means that no matter what your cause, or how small the gesture, is absolutely worth the action.

 

61 Comments Add yours

  1. I recall reading about this study in Malcolm Gladwell’s book “Tipping Point.”

    Look to nature and you can see that millions of tiny steps lead to change. Over time, of course, like wind and water eroding mountains to a pile of dust. Perhaps with a bit of conscious effort and knowing that we will have an impact, we can help.

    You be the 100th, and I’ll be the 101st.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I absolutely love your insight! Thank you. You’ve got a deal, we’ll be the monkeys to change the world!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. 😀 Plus, in the Chinese calendar, I was born in the year of the monkey. Make of that what you will. 😉

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Soul Gifts says:

        Make that three of us 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. A lovely post. Small steps lead to big change. 😊

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you for reading! I agree, that’s all we can hope for!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I believe that every small act counts in creating change.
    Thanks for the follow 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much for reading!

      Liked by 2 people

    2. da-AL says:

      I agree, Rosaliene – we all influence each other, hopefully for the good – great post, Ellie

      Liked by 2 people

  4. QP and Eye says:

    We can be the change I totally believe that. So I’m working for change in the world of addiction and childhood abuse and neglect. Thank you for the follow and following you right back. Linda 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. What an amazing way to spend your time pushing and working for change for people who need it most! I love that! Thank you Linda!

      Liked by 2 people

  5. nanacathy2 says:

    I think it may take more than a 100, we had love and peace in the 60s aand it didn’t work! But having said that we all should look to ourselves when preaching change! It really irritates me that envirnomentalists think nothing of flying to attend a conference at the other side of the globe! Haven’t they heard of the conference calls. I shall continue my small steps as I have all my life but I don’t expect big things to happen, but I will have done an old fogies best.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Haha probably a lot more then 100 for what we need to achieve! But I do believe that once enough people are on the same page it will push us toward change.

      Liked by 3 people

  6. ceayr says:

    Interesting slant on development of a species and hence evolution.
    Can I say I love your gravatar photo, very clever.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeah just how I interpreted the study and how I thought it could relate to us in a way. Oh thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. TanGental says:

    fascinating; and thanks for the follow

    Liked by 2 people

  8. That’s an interesting study and I love your encouragement to be the change-maker. There are hundreds of little things we can do individually and when they add to the collective whole, change is inevitable. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Change will come I’m sure of it, it has to!

      Liked by 2 people

  9. Hello Ellie, this is a wonderful post to point out to people that we should take responsibility for our actions. That we can make a difference in the way we live instead of passing it down the line. Here’s to the hundredth monkey in us. Cheers.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hey there, yeah and to be honest there won’t be much of a line to pass it down to if we carry on living so frivolously. It must be us to start the motion of change! Absolutely here’s to being the hundredth monkey! Thank you for having a read!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. You are quite so welcome! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  10. restlessjo says:

    I applaud the sentiment, Ellie. 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Nyanna says:

      19:37 rxnot my best cindy penrfomarce but slowed down by transitions and squats given my bum legprops to the 630 crew for making it fun alwayscash out: med ball throw situps with jcash.. fun times

      Like

  11. I’ve always found this phenomenon to be inspiring. Thanks for the reminder, Ellie. And thanks for the ‘follow’, too!

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Brilliant post.
    Can’t say what my “day job” is due to confidentiality issues, but I strive to push for change every working day.
    But aside from that, I LOVE the idea that one of us may be that monkey

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hey thank you very much! I know when I read the study I too thought what a cool concept, to be able to reach the point where if enough of us contribute to change just one more persons contribution could create that shift in all of our thoughts and behaviour. It’s a nice idea!
      Thank you for reading!

      Liked by 2 people

  13. bluebrightly says:

    A lovely, well thought out post. I hadn’t heard about the 100th monkey, and I like the concept, especially the use you put it to. Thanks for the follow, too!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Neither had I until I read about it in a book and then researched it! I like the concept too. Thank you for reading! X

      Liked by 2 people

  14. Ally L. Mare says:

    Hi!

    I’ve nominated you for the Mystery Blogger Award! If you decide to accept it, do check it out here!
    https://writeallywrite.wordpress.com/2017/06/24/mystery-blogger-award-2/

    And… this post really made me wonder a lot. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Interesting piece Ellie. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Terry says:

      Felt so hopeless looking for answers to my qu.eoitns..suntil now.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Isn’t it great when the answers begin showing.

        Like

    2. Ed 5:54 Good post. Taking religion out of Christmas, or reducing it, is a different issue than eliminating churches. Churches do lots of goods works. So do lots of other organizations. I wish churches paid property taxes.

      Like

  16. manikantak says:

    Good read, and even a better conclusion. Keep writing and keep entertaining.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey thanks for reading! Will definitely keep writing! X

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Gradmama2011 says:

    Excellent article, and very impressive blog! One of the things that I am very much into is the concept of the Indigo Children. I have been thinking about it since first hearing about the Indigos, and except for my oldest daughter very little interest or acceptance. The Indigos are recognizable by their eyes…abnormally bright and shiny and deep, and these people know everything….. I mean everything. I know some personally. Maybe I will blog about the Indigos…one of my favorite subjects.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohhh definitely blog about it! Sounds super interesting I’d be interested in reading about that! Thank you for reading and looking at my blog too!

      Like

      1. Gradmama2011 says:

        love your blog too…stay tuned 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  18. Gradmama2011 says:

    with your consent I would like to re-blog the “monkey” article on my blog, SOMETIMES.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely I would love that!

      Like

  19. Gradmama2011 says:

    Reblogged this on SOMETIMES and commented:
    This blog just came to my attention this morning, and its my favorite blog today. Thanks SO much for the re-blog Ellie Haretuko…and for following my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kiana says:

      Oct21Danielle Hi, the foandution/advanced course looks great, I am looking to perhaps do this course in 2013. I see that you have mentioned that you do a weekend taster is it possible to have some more info on this please? Thank you !

      Like

  20. Love this!
    What ‘if’ it does all come down to the power of positive thought!??
    Excellent blog! 🙂 following*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading and thank you for following!! 😆

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Tess says:

        Gee wiikellrs, that’s such a great post!

        Like

  21. Now if only that’d work during elections. 😉 Thanks for swinging by the Ranch and for the follow. We ❤︎ visitors.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Soul Gifts says:

    Animals,, unlike humans, have a collective consciousness, so the 100th monkey phenomena makes absolute sense. As for being the 100th monkey in bringing about change for us and our beautiful planet, if enough of us 100th’s turn our minds into positive thoughts, the energy we put out will attract what we are calling for. It just takes time for the wheels to turn and change the balance 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I absolutely agree. Time will tell.

      Liked by 1 person

  23. Dweezil says:

    I was really confused, and this answered all my quonsiest.

    Like

  24. Judith says:

    You’re the one with the brains here. I’m wahinctg for your posts.

    Like

  25. Veena says:

    A beautiful blog .Thank you for introducing me to it. Yes to bring change it is imperative to be the change. Small measures add to create the desired result.

    Like

  26. dorothyadele says:

    Interesting article. Thanks for the follow.

    Like

  27. Someone has to be the hundredth monkey, and every single one that came before it is required to make up that hundred. We must follow our hearts and aspire to being the most positive force in the world, without any aspirations to be that 100th monkey or change the world single handedly. Our efforts will always add up to the total goodness available to mankind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Beautifully said. And absolutely agree! Whatever it is that drives us and whatever we actively and positively put our minds to will always be worthwhile and create a push toward a good change.

      Liked by 1 person

  28. You are an amazing and clear thinker! Thanks for this refreshing post!

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Lovely post. And be of good cheer. I try very hard to recycle, put love into my fellow humans, and I plant lots of trees. You’re not doing this alone. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Naw love hearing that!! I know that so many people are on the same wave length as us. Thanks for your message 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  30. Very interesting, Ellie.
    Thank you for following me!

    Like

  31. I really like this post! It gives me hope, touches on some metaphysical notions I’ve rolled around (positive thoughts/prayer, The Gift, and quantum mechanics and how their is potentially an infinite amount of us in parallel universes that can be affected by the positive things we choose to do. I’m rambling, but again–great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ramble away, it’s fine! And thank you very much for taking the time to read!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

